top of page
Search
  • sianowen6

Using neuroscience for revision hacks!

Updated: Jul 12, 2021

By Alissa Malpass, Year 7


I'm not going to lie, revising can be tiring and can feel endless, especially when you leave it to the last minute. It can seem like the worst thing to do on a weekend, but it is vital!​

So here are some Neuroscience Revision Hacks to make it easier for everyone who struggles with memory, or even just can't be bothered!​

1. Use your motor system to memorize something new!​

When learning something new, it is good to jot it down and say it out loud, and maybe even use it in different context. I find this useful as when I do something multiple times in different ways, It engraves it into my mind, making it easier for me to remember in the future when I need it!​

2.Set yourself small goals, and when you achieve one set yourself another.​

I feel like this is the best way to keep yourself motivated, even if you have a small attention span.​

3. Listen to music to help your brain develop

Some may find listening to music when revising can be a distraction, but I find that this helps me concentrate a lot, and it doesn't distract me at all! My personal favourite is 'Coconut Mall' from Mario kart, I don't know if it is just a thing for me, as I enjoyed playing it when I was younger, but you should try it.​


4. Get colourful!

Using highlighters and different colours for different things helps can stimulate your memory. For example, I can choose a signature colour for an important topic and get into my brain that what I am trying to remember is related to that colour. It also helps me separate the information and keep important things from blending into other text. ​

It is scientifically proven that by separating and relating things you study to regular things, such as colours, can help stimulate your memory whenever you see them. Also, relating things to new words, like mnemonics is a trick that many people use like the, 'Big elephants can always understand small elephants' (spells 'Because').​

5. Repeat, repeat, repeat!

This may sound a little bit basic, but by repeating something you need to remember over and over again can really help engrave it into your mind. This creates pathways in your brain which can help you remember this information!​

6. Brainstorm


If you have a little bit of time before a test, try to write all of your ideas from the top of your head, then look back at your notes. ​

If you can see that you are missing anything, you can do a quick exercise like repetition, to make sure you don't forget any vital parts when you really need them. After all, doing a small exercise right before an exam can also get your brain thinking about the particular subject, and come up with ideas when your not under exam conditions. It's like doing your work for you, at an easier and more accessible time.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page